My 24 Hour Media Fast

Alright so I’ll start out by saying, I kind of cheated on this whole Media Fast deal. I chose to start it at 10:00 pm Thursday night, just as I was going to bed. Oh well, it all worked out in the end. So obviously I slept all night, and at 7:00 in the morning Rebecca told me to meet her back at her house at about 10:30 am. So what did I do? I went home and slept until 10:30 and drove back to her house, she got her cashiers check for the car she wanted to buy in Olathe, KS… (About 3 hours from Salina) so I drove us to Olathe in her Trans Am.. Left my phone at the house, that did not feel right at all. Whereas I probably would’ve been piddling on facebook, or texting people as I drove down the interstate, it was literally all conversation between me and Rebecca. She was a bit miffed that I couldn’t have the radio on, but I pointed out that she does have an iPhone so she went on about her business. There was a lot of times I can say I felt down in my pocket for my phone without thinking about it. It certainly felt like there was something missing, but the fact that I had someone to chat with during the drive made it better.. So the trip to Olathe was pretty basic, nothing happened. We got to town and I had to break the rules for a moment because she doesn’t know her directions, so I had to get on the phone with the guy and have him tell me how to find his house. Everything went smoothly with that, and we left Olathe at about 3:00 pm. I now got to drive the car she bought (because she doesn’t know how) and she had to drive the Trans Am back to Salina. So she followed me, and without using the phone… She got out in front of me, motioned for me to follow her and we stopped at a Walgreens, cause she had to pee. Yes I just put that on here. She managed to let me know she had to pee without using media.. Tricky. So anyways we got back on the road… After about 45 minutes on the interstate, I was really prompted to turn the radio on. I had no one to talk to, I had no phone, all I had was a Mountain Dew and the hum of the road. Of course being the guy I am, I had to play in the car to keep myself occupied. It’s a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8 with a turbocharged off of an Evolution 9 mind you.. 20 psi of boost with HKS 272 duration camshafts, 1000cc/min injectors, AEM fuel rail, and a walbro 255 fuel pump. Yum. It’s All Wheel Drive with 400 horsepower. So I did a few pulls on the road to occupy my brain. I never exceeded 120 mph though :D. Aaaanyways, the drive was pretty good. She was able to follow my cue the one time I needed to pull off and get gas. Otherwise the drive was fairly uneventful. We got back to town, pulled up to her house and hung out there for a bit. She had to leave for Wichita after a couple hours.. It was about 6:15. I asked her if I could hang onto the car overnight to look it over and see if I could fix the backfire/misfire issues it was having. She said yes, so I drove it to my dad’s shop, pulled it in and hung out there until about 9:00 pm looking things over on the car and making note of all the parts I needed to buy. At 10:00 pm, knowing my media fast was over, I went home, and got on my phone, some forums, facebook, and probably a few other things I don’t remember. Honestly I can say it was an overall interesting and good experience. It proved to me that media has become a huge part of our lives.. So much so that there are things we simply cannot do without it. I was truly relieved to get home and get back to my life though. So there you have it, that was my 24 hour media fast experience.

One thought on “My 24 Hour Media Fast

Leave a Reply

