Digital Media Project-New Plan

As stated in a previous post, my plan for my Digital Media Project was to attend the TX2K14 Racing Event and gather my own footage, to create a video covering the drag racing/street racing portions of the event. Unfortunately, after a 9 hour drive to Sealy, TX.. Inclement weather struck, leaving the racetrack and roads not suitable for safe racing. At this point I knew I had to figure out a way to salvage my project while still staying on topic.

I have now decided I will do a brief video showing the History of TX2K. For those of you who don’t know what TX2K stands for, it is simply Texas-200? TX-Texas 2K-2000. Texas being the state that the event is held in, and 2K14 would be 2014 representing the year of the event. This event started in the year 2000 as the Supra Nationals, a gathering of a handful of the nations’ fastest Toyota Supra’s. This was a time when 475 or 500 Horsepower was a surprising amount of output for these cars. Fast-Forward to 2014, the event has grown to hosting hundred’s of cars which travel from across the nation to gather and compete. The vehicles range from Mitsubishi Lancer’s, Subaru WRX’s and STi’s, Toyota Supras, Nissan GTR’s, Porsche’s, Honda NSX’s, Ferrari’s, Lamborghini’s, Corvette’s, and many more. Needless to say, through the use of Digital Media, this event has gained serious attention in the racing community, and spectators come from across the globe to gather for this event. For example, I was talking to a few guys who had met some people whom had flown in from the United Kingdom, and Australia simply to attend and experience the surreal passion for racing which this event is known for.

My video project will be organized as follows:

Intro: Images flash across screen of various sports cars, leading to video footage of a Turbocharged Trans-Am and Mustang doing burnouts. As the white smoke gathers into a cloud, the video will fade out to white with a title screen showing “The History of TX2K” with a logo created by me.

Past Events: With Narration by me, video footage from the early 2000’s events will play. I will discuss how the event started, and if possible I will get some kind of interview with someone who has attended the event from the start.

Discussion of Social Media: Focus on Facebook and Youtube with narration on how the popularity of the event grew as they used these methods of Social Media to show what awesome things were happening at this event. I will talk about 1320 Video, That Racing Channel, and some of the influential Shops and people that made this event what it is today.

Current Event: Using footage that I acquired at the 2013 event, blended with footage of other people’s, I will show exactly what the event is like today. There will be minor narration giving emphasis on the amount of cars, the Exotic Vehicles that show up, and the amount of people and where they come from.

Finish: Summarize how much the event has grown and discuss looking forward to seeing more in the years to come.

Some of this may be subject to change as time goes on, but this is the plan thus far. A few video sources I will be using are below. These are not final yet, and there will be more by the time I am done.

https://www.youtube.com/user/ThatRacingChannel

https://www.youtube.com/user/1320video

Leave a Reply

